June 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun

Calendar Calendar

World Clock

DCS Huey Autorotations

Go down

DCS Huey Autorotations

Post by (A/229) Huckleberry on Sat 17 Feb 2018 - 15:55

Can anyone weigh in on the accuracy of the autorotation physics in the huey module? It seems to be the case in the other rotorcrafts too but I don't fly them nearly as much so it doesn't bug me.

Of course I have no real flight experience, but I seem to get way too much lift at the final stages of autorotation, as long as I don't keep the collective maxed out. To put it another way, it seems too easy to cowboy a really sketchy landing with no power, for instance flaring too soon and coming down vertically with near 0 airspeed; or wrenching the collective all the way up early on, when coming in too fast, and still being able to drop the collective back to a reasonable pitch while retaining bunch of potential lift for landing.

I feel like any rotor speed lost IGE is permanent, and sort of milking the collective for lift is a very bad practice, even though I've been getting away with it in the simulator.

Does that sound right? Comments & critiques appreciated, esp. if you've performed autorotations IRL.
(A/229) Huckleberry
Chief Warrant Officer 2
Rated Senior Aviator
Chief Warrant Officer 2 Rated Senior Aviator

Back to top Go down

Re: DCS Huey Autorotations

Post by (D/229) Xtra on Sun 18 Feb 2018 - 10:03

The huey rotor systems is able to maintain a lot of momentum. Heard some people say that after a landing you could still pick it up and almost make a 360.
Losing rotor rpm with no airspeeds to trade would mean you wont be able to increase it anymore. But you would milk the collective as much as possible to make for a smooth landing. Coming in with a bit of foward air/groundspeed isnt such a big deal on a runway but a whole different story when landing outside

Not sure what you mean with too much lift in the final stage?
(D/229) Xtra
Major
Company Commander
Instructor Pilot