Fri 12 Oct 2018, 18:30 by (B/229) LATEO

» Implementing ATC software
Thu 11 Oct 2018, 13:17 by (A/229) JSpectre

» Multi Unit Mission 3rd NOV 18
Wed 10 Oct 2018, 23:42 by (B|D/229) Gizzy

October 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun

Calendar Calendar

D/229 Molevich is building an Mi-24 cockpit in anticipation of the DCS module.

Go down

D/229 Molevich is building an Mi-24 cockpit in anticipation of the DCS module.

Post by (D/229) Molevich on Wed 27 Jun 2018, 08:11

GunfighterSIX suggested I post the story of my Mi-24 Cockpit development, so although there are various posts around on here about it, I have decided to make a definitive and chronologically accurate document about it.

I have been a big fan of DCS choppers since the arrival of the Black Shark, many years ago. I have an inexplicable affinity with the Russian hardware, and so when Belsimtek released the Mi-8 it was a no-brainer for me. I simply adore this module.

I have always made things. I am not an engineer, but I have a good sense of 2D to 3D conversion, and am used to measuring twice and cutting once. In my careers, I have worked as a carpenter/joiner, a fashion designer and tailor, and a special effects and prop maker.

My first major sim-pit development was to customise 2 x MSFFB sticks and a CH Fighterstick into one Cyclic control stick, following PeterP's guide on ED forums some years back. Having achieved that, I proceeded to design and build a collective with a capable button box head and twist throttle. Having wired that up to a Bodnar board, I swore to never do a switch matrix wiring job again! It was a bit crude, but worked very well.

The collective design later served as the principle for the collective lever I made this year for Gizzy, to attach to a TM Throttle unit.

So in 2013 I had caught the controls-building fever.... I am still not cured.

Then two things happened.